All of Us Strangers Takes Home Top Dorian Film Award

Photo by Chris Harris. Courtesy of Searchlight Pictures. © 2023 Searchlight Pictures All Rights Reserved.

Consisting of over 500 critics, journalists and media icons (including Film Obsessive’s News Editor, Tina Kakadelis), GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics has announced the winners for their 15th Dorian Film Awards. All of Us Strangers took home the top prize of Film of the Year and LGBTQ Film of the Year. The Andrew Haigh-directed film also garnered six nominations at the BAFTAs, but has been excluded from the Oscar conversation.

“Twelve years ago, Andrew Haigh’s fresh and observant queer romance Weekend ruled our Dorians as well,” said GALECA President Walt Hickey. “So the fact that Strangers obviously touched many of our members’ hearts as well counts as sort of a sweet homecoming to our organization.”

Check out the full list of winners below.

Film of the Year
🏆 All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Barbie (Warner Bros.)
May December (Netflix)
Past Lives (A24)
Poor Things (Searchlight)

Adam and Andrew embrace, bathed in the purple light of a club.
All of Us Strangers. Photo by Chris Harris, © 2023 Searchlight Pictures.

LGBTQ Film of the Year
🏆 All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Bottoms (MGM)
Passages (MUBI, SBS)
Rustin (Netflix)
Saltburn (Amazon MGM)

Director of the Year
🏆 Greta Gerwig, Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Todd Haynes, May December (Netflix)
Christopher Nolan, Oppenheimer (Universal)
Celine Song, Past Lives (A24)

Elizabeth (Natalie Portman) studies Gracie (Julianne Moore) as she applies makeup in a bathroom. Elizabeth holds a notepad in the well-lit bathroom.
May December. Photo: Courtesy of Netflix.

Screenplay of the Year – Original or adapted
Noah Baumbach and Greta Gerwig, Barbie (Warner Bros.)
🏆 Samy Burch, May December (Netflix)
Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Arthur Harari, Justine Triet, Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Celine Song, Past Lives (A24)

LGBTQ Screenplay of the Year (New category!)
🏆 Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Arthur Harari, Justine Triet, Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Dustin Lance Black, Julian Breece, Rustin (Netflix)
Arlette Langmann, Ira Sachs, Mauricio Zacharias, Passages (MUBI)
Emma Seligman, Rachel Sennott, Bottoms (MGM)

Two figures look at a fallen human body laying in the snow.
Anatomy of a Fall. Photo: courtesy of Neon

Non-English Language Film of the Year
🏆 Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
The Boy and the Heron (GKIDS)
Godzilla Minus One (Toho)
Past Lives (A24)
The Zone of Interest (A24)

LGBTQ Non-English Language Film of the Year
Afire (Janus Films, Sideshow)
🏆 Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Cassandro (Amazon MGM)
Monster (Well Go USA, Gaga, Toho)
Rotting in the Sun (MUBI)

Margaret and her mother stand in a department store
Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret. Photo: courtesy of Lionsgate.

Unsung Film of the Year – To an exceptional movie worthy of greater attention
🏆 Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret (Lionsgate)
Monica (IFC)
Origin (NEON)
Theater Camp (Searchlight)
A Thousand and One (Focus Features)

Film Performance of the Year
Colman Domingo, Rustin (Netflix)
Paul Giamatti, The Holdovers (Focus Features)
🏆 Lily Gladstone, Killers of the Flower Moon (Apple)
Sandra Hüller, Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Greta Lee, Past Lives (A24)
Trace Lysette, Monica (IFC)
Cillian Murphy, Oppenheimer (Universal)
Natalie Portman, May December (Netflix)
Andrew Scott, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Emma Stone, Poor Things (Searchlight)

Supporting Film Performance of the Year
Danielle Brooks, The Color Purple (Warner Bros.)
Robert Downey Jr., Oppenheimer (Universal)
Jodie Foster, Nyad (Netflix)
Claire Foy, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Ryan Gosling, Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Rachel McAdams, Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret (Lionsgate)
🏆 Charles Melton, May December (Netflix)
Paul Mescal, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Rosamund Pike, Saltburn (Amazon MGM)
Da’Vine Joy Randolph, The Holdovers (Focus Features)

Liyah lays on her bed, smoking with a large teddy bear next to her
Kokomo City. Photo by D. Smith. Courtesy of Sundance Institute.

Documentary of the Year
American Symphony (Netflix)
Beyond Utopia (Roadside Attractions, Fathom Events)
🏆 Kokomo City (Magnolia)
Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie (Apple)
20 Days in Mariupol (PBS Distribution)

LGBTQ Documentary of the Year
Every Body (Focus Features)
Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project (HBO, Confluential Films)
🏆 Kokomo City (Magnolia)
Little Richard: I Am Everything (Magnolia)
Orlando, My Political Biography (Janus Film, Sideshow)

Animated Film of the Year
🏆 The Boy and the Heron (GKIDS)
Elemental (Disney)
Nimona (Netflix, Annapurna)
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (SONY)
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutant Mayhem (Paramount)

Bella relaxes on a chair
Poor Things. Photo: Courtesy of Searchlight Pictures. 

Genre Film of the Year – For excellence in science fiction, fantasy and horror (New category!)
All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Godzilla Minus One (Toho)
M3GAN (Universal)
🏆 Poor Things (Searchlight)
Talk To Me (A24)

Film Music of the Year
🏆 Barbie — Mark Ronson, Andrew Wyatt, et al. (Warner Bros.)
The Boy and the Heron — Joe Hisaishi (GKIDS)
The Color Purple — Stephen Bray, Allee Willis, Brenda Russell, Kris Bowers, et al. (Warner Bros.)
Oppenheimer — Ludwig Göransson (Universal)
The Zone of Interest — Mica Levi (A24)

Visually Striking Film of the Year
Asteroid City (Focus Features)
Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Oppenheimer (Universal)
🏆 Poor Things (Searchlight)
Spider-Man: Across The Spider-Verse (SONY)

M3GAN menacingly stares outside Gemma's house.
M3GAN. Photo courtesy Universal Studios.

Campiest Flick
Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Bottoms (MGM)
Dicks: The Musical (A24)
🏆 M3GAN (Universal)
Saltburn (Amazon MGM)

“We’re Wilde About You!” Rising Star Award
🏆 Ayo Edebiri
Lily Gladstone
Jacob Elordi
Charles Melton
Dominic Sessa

Wilde Artist Award – To a truly groundbreaking force in entertainment
Quinta Brunson
Ayo Edebiri
Greta Gerwig
Lily Gladstone
🏆 Todd Haynes

GALECA LGBTQIA+ Film Trailblazer Award – For creating art that inspires empathy, truth and equity
🏆 Colman Domingo
Jodie Foster
Andrew Haigh
Todd Haynes
Andrew Scott

Timeless Star (Career achievement award) – Honoring an exemplary career marked by character, wisdom and wit
🏆 Jodie Foster

Written by Tina Kakadelis

News Editor for Film Obsessive. Movie and pop culture writer. Seen a lot of movies, got a lot of opinions. Let's get Carey Mulligan her Oscar.

Leave a Reply

Film Obsessive welcomes your comments. All submissions are moderated. Replies including personal attacks, spam, and other offensive remarks will not be published. Email addresses will not be visible on published comments.

Willy Wonka (Timothée Chalamet) dances with a top hat and a cane while multiple dancers stagger him all with umbrellas open that have Wonka written on them.

Wonka Brings Its Sweets to Physical Media

A man walking in the street on the left side and a blue car on the right side

The Creative Spirit of Buena Vista Social Club