GALECA Announces 15th Dorian Film Awards Nominees

Photo by Chris Harris, © 2023 Searchlight Pictures.

Consisting of over 500 critics, journalists and media icons (including Film Obsessive’s News Editor, Tina Kakadelis), GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics has announced the nominations for their 15th Dorian Film Awards. In addition to more traditional categories, the Dorian Film Awards recognizes LGBTQ films, screenplays, and documentaries. The group also gives award to the campiest movie of the year, a category that is proving to be quite competitive this year.

Leading the Dorian Film Awards (yet curiously snubbed from the Oscars), is Andrew Haigh’s heartbreaking All of Us Strangers with nine nominations. Not far behind are Greta Gerwig’s Barbie with seven nominations and Todd Haynes’s May December with six nominations.

Check out the full list of nominations below and stay tuned for the winners on February 26th.

Film of the Year
All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Barbie (Warner Bros.)
May December(Netflix)
Poor Things (Searchlight)
LGBTQ Film of the Year
All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Bottoms (MGM)
Passages (MUBI, SBS)
Rustin (Netflix)
Saltburn (Amazon MGM)
Director of the Year
Greta Gerwig, Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Todd Haynes, May December (Netflix)
Christopher Nolan, Oppenheimer (Universal)
Celine Song, Past Lives (A24)
Elizabeth (Natalie Portman) studies Gracie (Julianne Moore) as she applies makeup in a bathroom. Elizabeth holds a notepad in the well-lit bathroom.
Photo: Courtesy of Netflix.
Screenplay of the Year
Original or adapted
Noah Baumbach and Greta Gerwig, Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Samy Burch, May December (Netflix)
Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Arthur Harari, Justine Triet, Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Celine Song, Past Lives (A24)
LGBTQ Screenplay of the Year (new)
Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Arthur Harari, Justine Triet, Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Dustin Lance Black, Julian Breece, Rustin (Netflix)
Arlette Langmann, Ira Sachs, Mauricio Zacharias, Passages (MUBI)
Emma Seligman, Rachel Sennott, Bottoms (MGM)
Non-English Language Film of the Year
Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
The Boy and the Heron (GKIDS, Toho)
Past Lives (A24)
Rudolf Höss smokes at his home during the evening across from Auschwitz Concentration Camp.
Christian Friedel plays Rudolf Höss in The Zone of Interest
LGBTQ Non-English Language Film of the Year (new)
Afire (Janus Films, Sideshow)
Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Cassandro (Amazon MGM)
Monster (Well Go USA, Gaga, Toho)
Rotting in the Sun (MUBI)
Unsung Film of the Year
To an exceptional movie worthy of greater attention
Monica (IFC)
Origin (NEON)
Theater Camp (Searchlight)
A Thousand and One (Focus Features)
Film Performance of the Year
Colman Domingo, Rustin (Netflix)
Paul Giamatti, The Holdovers (Focus Features)
Lily Gladstone, Killers of the Flower Moon (Apple, Paramount)
Sandra Hüller, Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)
Greta Lee, Past Lives (A24)
Trace Lysette, Monica (IFC)
Cillian Murphy, Oppenheimer (Universal)
Natalie Portman, May December (Netflix)
Andrew Scott, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Emma Stone, Poor Things (Searchlight)
Margaret and her mother stand in a department store
Courtesy of Lionsgate
Supporting Film Performance of the Year
Danielle Brooks, The Color Purple (Warner Bros.)
Robert Downey Jr., Oppenheimer (Universal)
Jodie Foster, NYAD (Netflix)
Claire Foy, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Ryan Gosling, Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Rachel McAdams, Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret (Lionsgate)
Charles Melton, May December (Netflix)
Paul Mescal, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
Rosamind Pike, Saltburn (Amazon MGM)
Da’Vine Joy Randolph, The Holdovers (Focus Features)
Documentary of the Year
American Symphony (Netflix)
Beyond Utopia (Roadside Attractions, Fathom Events)
Kokomo City (Magnolia)
20 Days in Mariupol (PBS Distribution)
LGBTQ Documentary of the Year
Every Body (Focus Features)
Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project (HBO, Confluential Films)
Kokomo City (Magnolia)
Little Richard: I Am Everything (Magnolia)
Orlando, My Political Biography (Janus Film, Sideshow)
Paul afixes a collar to an Orlando
Courtesy of TIFF
Animated Film of the Year
The Boy and the Heron (GKIDS, Toho)
Elemental (Disney)
Nimona (Netflix, Annapurna)
Genre Film of the Year (new)
For excellence in science fiction, fantasy and horror
All of Us Strangers (Searchlight)
M3GAN (Universal)
Poor Things (Searchlight)
Film Music of the Year
Barbie — Mark Ronson, Andrew Wyatt, et al. (Warner Bros.)
The Boy and the Heron — Joe Hisaishi (GKIDS, Toho)
The Color Purple — Stephen Bray, Allee Willis, Brenda Russell, Kris Bowers, et al. (Warner Bros.)
Oppenheimer — Ludwig Göransson (Universal)
The Zone of Interest — Mica Levi (A24)
Bryan Cranston hosts the teleplay framing device segment of Asteroid City.
Bryan Cranston stars as “Host” in writer/director Wes Anderson’s ASTEROID CITY, a Focus Features release. Credit: Courtesy of Pop. 87 Productions/Focus Features
Visually Striking Film of the Year
Asteroid City(Focus Features)
Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Oppenheimer (Universal)
Poor Things (Searchlight)
Spider-Man: Across The Spider-Verse (SONY)
Campiest Flick 
Barbie (Warner Bros.)
Bottoms (MGM)
M3GAN (Universal)
Saltburn (Amazon MGM)
“We’re Wilde About You!” Rising Star Award
Ayo Edebiri
Lily Gladstone
Jacob Elordi
Charles Melton
Dominic Sessa
Wilde Artist Award
To a truly groundbreaking force in entertainment
Quinta Brunson
Ayo Edebiri
Greta Gerwig
Lily Gladstone
Todd Haynes
Lily Gladstone and Martin Scorsese
Martin Scorsese directs Lily Gladstone between scenes of “Killers of the Floor Moon.” (Photo by Apple Inc.)
GALECA LGBTQIA+ Film Trailblazer Award 
For creating art that inspires empathy, truth and equity
Colman Domingo
Jodie Foster
Andrew Haigh
Todd Haynes
Andrew Scott
Timeless Star (Career achievement award)
Honoring an exemplary career marked by character, wisdom and wit
To be announced February 26 with winners.

Written by Tina Kakadelis

News Editor for Film Obsessive. Movie and pop culture writer. Seen a lot of movies, got a lot of opinions. Let's get Carey Mulligan her Oscar.

Leave a Reply

Film Obsessive welcomes your comments. All submissions are moderated. Replies including personal attacks, spam, and other offensive remarks will not be published. Email addresses will not be visible on published comments.

David Janssen as David Christopher holds a gun in a stylized poster image from The Swiss Conspiracy.

The Swiss Conspiracy (1976) Arrives Re-Mastered and Restored on Blu-Ray & DVD

Seven trolls dance together for a big song in Trolls Band Together

Trolls Band Together Continues The Boy Band Party on 4K UHD