Online Film Critics Society Announces Award Winners

courtesy of universal pictures

The Online Film Critics Society announced their nominations for their 2023 awards on January 17. A mere six days later, and we have some winners! The organization was founded in 1997 and consists of almost 300 members (including our own Editor-in-Chief Don Shanahan) around the world who are online film journalists, historians, and scholars.

Oppenheimer led the nominations with eleven total and walks out with eight awards, including Best Picture. In true “Barbenheimer” fashion, Barbie was the second-most decorated film of the awards, winning the top prize in four categories. With the Academy Award nominations on the horizon, are the Online Film Critics Society Awards a preview of what’s to come?

Check out the full list of winners below:

Best Picture: Oppenheimer
Best Animated Feature: Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse
Best Director: Christopher Nolan – Oppenheimer
Best Actor: Paul Giamatti – The Holdovers
Best Actress: Lily Gladstone – Killers of the Flower Moon
Best Supporting Actor: Robert Downey Jr. – Oppenheimer
Best Supporting Actress: Da’Vine Joy Randolph – The Holdovers
Best Original Screenplay: The Holdovers
Best Adapted Screenplay: Oppenheimer
Best Film Editing: Oppenheimer
Best Cinematography: Oppenheimer
Best Original Score: Oppenheimer
Best Production Design: Barbie
Best Costume Design: Barbie
Best Visual Effects: Oppenheimer
Best Debut Feature: Celine Song – Past Lives
Best Film Not in the English Language: Anatomy of a Fall
Best Documentary Feature: 20 Days in Mariupol

A woman claps high to lead a large dance in Barbie
Image courtesy of Warner Bros. Pictures

Technical Achievements

Culinary Direction – The Taste of Things
Original Song (“I’m Just Ken”) – Barbie
Original Song (“What Was I Made For?”) – Barbie
Stunt Coordination – John Wick: Chapter 4
Stunt Coordination – Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part 1

Lifetime Achievement Awards

Jodie Foster (actor)
Gene Hackman (actor)
Gale Anne Hurd (producer)
Hayao Miyazaki (animator/writer/director)
Thelma Schoonmaker (editor)

Special Achievement Awards

Ben Model, for his work in restoring and releasing silent film classics.

Fran Drescher, president of the Screen Actors Guild, for her diligent negotiation on behalf of working actors in the 2023 SAG-AFTRA strike.

Members of and President Meredith Stiehm of the Writers Guild of America for persisting in their strike to ensure that the rapidly-changing American film industry will remain a viable source of livelihood for artists.

Best Non-US Releases

Bad Living (João Canijo, Portugal)
Blackbird Blackbird Blackberry (Elene Naveriani, Georgia)
Close Your Eyes (Victor Erice, Spain)
Dear Jassi (Tarsem Singh Dhandwar, India)
Explanation for Everything (Gábor Reisz, Hungary)
The Girls Are Alright (Itsaso Arana, Spain)
I Love You, Beksman (Perci M. Intalan, Philippines)
The New Boy (Warwick Thornton, Australia)
Samsara (Lois Patino, Spain)
Sorcery (Christopher Murray, Chile)

Written by Tina Kakadelis

News Editor for Film Obsessive. Movie and pop culture writer. Seen a lot of movies, got a lot of opinions. Let's get Amy Adams her Oscar.

Leave a Reply

Film Obsessive welcomes your comments. All submissions are moderated. Replies including personal attacks, spam, and other offensive remarks will not be published. Email addresses will not be visible on published comments.

Landscape of uranium mining

Slamdance ’24: Demon Mineral Is the Necessary Compliment to Oppenheimer

Big buck-toothed beavers from Hundreds of Beavers.

Side-Splitting Hundreds of Beavers is Pure Wack Genius