96th Oscar Noms Announced: Oppenheimer Leads Crowded Field

Tuesday morning the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences released their list of Oscar 2023 film nominations for the 96th Academy Awards. The most recognized films where Oppenheimer (13 nominations), Poor Things (11 nominations), and Killers of the Flower Moon (10 nominations) establishing themselves as frontrunners at the awards show.

Notable nominations include Lily Gladstone (Killers of the Flower Moon) as the first Native American nominated for Best Actress. Steven Spielberg (Maestro) adds a record 13th producer nomination to his résumé. Martin Scorsese (Killers of the Flower Moon) at 81 years old becomes the oldest directing nominated, and his tenth directing nomination leaves him two behind William Wyler. Justine Triet (Anatomy of a Fall) nabs the ninth directing nomination by a woman, and a woman has been nominated five years in a row. Thelma Schoonmaker (Killers of the Flower Moon) receives her editing record ninth nomination. Composer John Williams receives a record 49th nomination for musical score and is the oldest nominee ever at 91 years old.

The 96th Academy Awards ceremony serves as the culminating event, airing on ABC Sunday March 10th, 2024 at the Dolby Theater in Los Angeles, CA.  This year’s event is hosted by Jimmy Kimmel. For Film Obsessive’s reviews of the nominated films, see the links below, and stay tuned for our predictions!

Here is the complete list of nominees in every category:

Best Motion Picture

American Fiction (Orion Pictures/Amazon MGM Studios)

Anatomy of a Fall (Neon)

Barbie (Warner Bros.)

The Holdovers (Focus Features)

Killers of the Flower Moon 

Maestro (Netflix)

Oppenheimer (Universal)

Past Lives (A24)

Poor Things (Searchlight)

Zone of Interest (A24)

Best Directing

Justine Triet Anatomy of a Fall

Martin Scorsese Killers of the Flower Moon

Christopher Nolan Oppenheimer

Yorgos Lanthimos Poor Things

Jonathan Glazer – The Zone of Interest

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Bradley Cooper (“Leonard Bernstein” in Maestro)
Colman Domingo (“Bayard Rustin” in Rustin)
Paul Giamatti (“Paul Hunham” in The Holdovers)
Cillian Murphy (“J. Robert Oppenheimer” in Oppenheimer)
Jeffrey Wright (“Thelonious ‘Monk’ Ellison” in American Fiction)

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Annette Bening (“Diana Nyad” in Nyad)
Lily Gladstone (“Mollie Burkhart” in Killers of the Flower Moon)
Sandra Hüller (“Sandra” in Anatomy of a Fall)
Carey Mulligan (“Felicia Montealegre” in Maestro)
Emma Stone (“Bella Baxter” in Poor Things)

Best Actor In a Supporting Role

Sterling K. Brown (“Clifford Ellison” in American Fiction)
Robert De Niro (“William Hale” in Killers of the Flower Moon)
Robert Downey Jr. (“Lewis Strauss” in Oppenheimer)
Ryan Gosling (“Ken” in Barbie)
Mark Ruffalo (“Duncan Wedderburn” in Poor Things)

Best Actress In a Supporting Role

Emily Blunt (“Kitty Oppenheimer” in Oppenheimer)
Danielle Brooks (“Sofia” in The Color Purple)
America Ferrera (“Gloria” in Barbie)
Jodie Foster (“Bonnie Stoll” in Nyad)
Da’Vine Joy Randolph (“Mary Lamb” in The Holdovers)

Best Film Editing

Laurent Sénéchal – Anatomy of a Fall

Kevin Tent – The Holdovers

Thelma Schoonmaker – Killers of the Flower Moon

Jennifer Lame – Oppenheimer

Yorgos Mavropsaridis – Poor Things

Best Original Screenplay

Anatomy of a Fall – Screenplay – Justine Triet and Arthur Harari
The Holdovers – Written by David Hemingson
Maestro – Written by Bradley Cooper Josh Singer
May December – Screenplay by Samy Burch; Story by Samy Burch Alex Mechanik
Past Lives – Written by Celine Song

Best Adapted Screenplay

American Fiction – Written by Cord Jefferson
Barbie – Written by Greta Gerwig Noah Baumbach
Oppenheimer – Written by Christopher Nolan
Poor Things – Screenplay by Tony McNamara
The Zone of Interest – Written by Jonathan Glazer

Best International Feature Film

Io Capitano (Italy) – Directed by Matteo Garrone

Perfect Days (Japan) – Directed by Wim Wenders

Society of the Snow (Spain) – Directed by J.A. Bayona
The Teachers’ Lounge (Germany) – Directed by İlker Çatak
The Zone of Interest (United Kingdom) – Directed by Jonathan Glazer

Best Animated Feature Film

Elemental (Walt Disney)
Nimona (Netflix)
Robot Dreams (Neon)
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse (Sony Pictures Releasing)

Best Cinematography

Edward Lachman El Conde

Rodrigo Prieto – Killers of the Flower Moon

Matthew Libatique – Maestro

Hoyte van Hoytema – Oppenheimer

Robbie Ryan – Poor Things

Best Musical Score

Laura Karpman – American Fiction

John Williams Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny

Robbie Robertson – Killers of the Flower Moon

Ludwig Göransson – Oppenheimer

Jerskin Fendrix – Poor Things

Best Sound

The Creator


Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One


The Zone of Interest

Best Visual Effects

The Creator

Godzilla Minus One

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3

Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One


Best Costume Design

Barbie Jacqueline Durran

Killers of the Flower Moon Jacqueline West

Napoleon Janty Yates & Dave Crossman

Oppenheimer – Ellen Mirojnick

Poor Things – Holly Waddington

Best Documentary Short

The ABCs of Book Banning – Sheila Nevins & Trish Adlesic

The Barber of Little Rock  – John Hoffman & Christine Turner

Island in Between – S. Leo Chiang & Jean Tsien

The Last Repair Shop – Ben Proudfoot & Kris Bowers

Nǎi Nai & Wài Pó – Sean Wang & Sam Davis

Best Documentary Feature

Bobi Wine: The People’s President

The Eternal Memory

Four Daughters

To Kill a Tiger

20 Days in Mariupol

Best Hair & Makeup




Poor Things 

Society of the Snow 

Best Original Song

“The Fire Inside” from Flamin’ Hot
Music & Lyrics by Diane Warren

“I’m Just Ken” from Barbie
Music & Lyrics by Mark Ronson & Andrew Wyatt

“It Never Went Away” from American Symphony
Music & Lyrics by Jon Batiste & Dan Wilson

“Wahzhazhe (A Song For My People)” from Killers of the Flower Moon
Music & Lyrics by Scott George

“What Was I Made For?” from Barbie
Music & Lyrics by Billie Eilish & Finneas O’Connell

Best Production Design

Barbie – Production Design: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer

Killers of the Flower Moon – Production Design: Jack Fisk; Set Decoration: Adam Willis

Napoleon – Production Design: Arthur Max; Set Decoration: Elli Griff

Oppenheimer – Production Design: Ruth De Jong; Set Decoration: Claire Kaufman

Poor Things – Production Design: James Price & Shona Heath; Set Decoration: Zsuzsa Mihalek

Best Animated Short

Letter to a Pig – Tal Kantor & Amit R. Gicelter

Ninety-Five Senses – Jerusha Hess & Jared Hess

Our Uniform – Yegane Moghaddam

Pachyderme – Stéphanie Clément & Marc Rius

WAR IS OVER! Inspired by the Music of John & Yoko – Dave Mullins & Brad Booker

Best Live Action Short

The After – Misan Harriman & Nicky Bentham

Invincible – Vincent René-Lortie & Samuel Caron

Knight of Fortune – Lasse Lyskjær Noer & Christian Norlyk

Red, White and Blue – Nazrin Choudhury & Sara McFarlane

The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar – Wes Anderson & Steven Rales

Written by Seth Lamey

Film Studies graduate from Winona State University. Cinema management experience and multimedia film criticism/analysis work.

Leave a Reply

Film Obsessive welcomes your comments. All submissions are moderated. Replies including personal attacks, spam, and other offensive remarks will not be published. Email addresses will not be visible on published comments.

Big buck-toothed beavers from Hundreds of Beavers.

Side-Splitting Hundreds of Beavers is Pure Wack Genius

Wide shot of the opening of The Hateful Eight

Ice and Snow, Isolation and Survival: Winter Favorites